Supervisors & Boards

Auditors | ASAAC | Sewer Authority | Park Board
Planning Commission | Zoning Hearing Recreation Authority

Board of Supervisors First Wednesday 7:30 p.m.
Planning Commission Fourth Wednesday 7:30 p.m.
Park Board Fourth Tuesday 7:00 p.m.
Recreation Authority Fourth Thursday 7:00 p.m.
Zoning Hearing Board Second Thursday (as needed) 7:30 p.m.
Communications Committee Third Wednesday 7:30 p.m.
Sewer Authority Board Third Tuesday 7:30 p.m.
Agricultural Security As needed
UCC Appeals Board As needed  
Industrial Development Authority As needed  


Board of Supervisors
Lower Salford is a Township of the Second Class governed by a five-member Board of Supervisors elected at-large for a six year term by the residents of Lower Salford Township. The Board is charged with the general governance of the township and the execution of legislative, executive and administrative powers as defined in Section 607 of the Second Class Township Code. They also make all appointments to the various boards and commissions. The Board meets monthly to review all issues before the township and provide policy direction to the administrative and appointed staff. They also hold a work session at 7:30 a.m. on the Tuesday prior to the first Wednesday and the third Wednesday of each month.

2023 BOS Photo
Left to Right: Kevin Shelly, Chris Canavan-Vice Chair,  Keith Bergman-Chair, Dave Scheuren & Kent Krauss (Appointed February 1, 2023)

Township Supervisors Include:

Keith Bergman, Chairman - Term expires 12/31/29

Christopher Canavan, Vice Chairman - Term expires 12/31/25

Kevin Shelly - Term expires 12/31/25

David Scheuren - Term expires 12/31/27

Kent Krauss - Term Expires 12/31/29

To Contact a Supervisor, please use the General Township Email below. In the Subject line, include the name of the Supervisor you wish to contact
[email protected]

Top of page

Board of Auditors
Three residents are elected at-large to serve as auditors for a six-year term. Their responsibilities are defined by the Second Class Township Code. In overseeing the audit of township financial records by the independent auditing firm of Maillie, LLP, Oaks, PA, the Township Auditors confirm the financial audit report for submission to state agencies, as required.

Members: Dr. John Nase, Andrea Dauphinee, James Natale

Top of page

Agricultural Security Area Advisory Committee (ASAAC)
The ASAAC meets on an 'as needed' basis to consider applications for inclusion in the Agricultural Security District. Along with the Township Planning Commission, the ASAAC submits its recommendations concerning such applications to the Board of Supervisors. This program was created in 1992 in accordance with the Pennsylvania Agricultural Security Area Law (Act 43 of 1981, as amended). It includes provisions to allow farmers to continue working in growing suburban areas protecting them from such complaints as seasonal farming smells and the noise from farm equipment operating in the early morning hours.

Members: Barry Swartz, Brent Allebach, Christopher Canavan, Joseph Czajkowski, Mary L. West.  The Montgomery County Planning Commission - Farmland Preservation Administrator also takes part in this Committee

Top of page

Lower Salford Authority
Operating as a separate entity overseeing the public sanitary sewer system within the township, the Lower Salford Authority conducts its daily business operations from their offices located at 57 Main Street, Harleysville, PA 19438. A workshop meeting is held at 7:00 a.m. on the first Wednesday of each month at the Authority's business office. The Board meets on the third Tuesday of each month starting at 7:30 p.m., however, the meetings are held at the Municipal Offices located at 379 Main Street, Harleysville.

Members: Chairman Karl Janetka, Vice Chairman David Scheuren, Secretary Barry Bohmueller, Treasurer James Natale & Assistant Secretary/Treasurer David Spause

Top of page

Park Board
Overseeing the development and maintenance of the Lower Salford Township park and trail system, this seven-member advisory board seeks to provide public access and enjoyment to open space while preserving the natural features of these pristine areas. Members serve for a five-year term.

Members: Kent Krauss, Chairman, Peter Harubin, Vice Chairman, Jan Johnson, Ryan Beltz, Amy Burch, Andy Lazzaro & Mark Kelley

Top of page

Planning Commission
This seven-member board is responsible for reviewing subdivision and land developments. Serving in an advisory capacity to the Board of Supervisors, the Planning Commission reviews plans for compliance with township zoning and subdivision and land development ordinances and makes recommendations on various issues such as layout and site design. Members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors and serve a four-year term.

Members: Chairman Manus McHugh, Vice Chairman John Kennedy, Joe Harwanko, David Bowe, David Goodman, Scott Bamford & Julia Hurle

Top of page

Zoning Hearing Board
As authorized by the Pennsylvania Municipalities Planning Code (PMPC), the Zoning Hearing Board conducts hearings and renders decisions on applications for variances and special exceptions. Guidelines for the granting of such variances and special exceptions are also stipulated by the PMPC. Appointed by the Board of Supervisors, members serve a three-year term.

Members: John Frankenfield, Chairman; Paul Ehrhart, Mark Fennell. 
Alternates:  Jean Campbell
Marc D. Jonas, ESQ., Solicitor.

Top of page

Recreation Authority 
This five-member Board meets monthly with the General Manager of the Lederach Golf Course and representatives from Brown Golf, the management consultant responsible for the day-to-day operations at the facility. In addition to its role of operation management, the Recreation Authority will investigate the long-term debt structure for the golf course and Leddy's Pub and will ultimately enact changes to the debt structure as deemed necessary.

Members: Douglas A. Gifford, Keith Bergman, Karl Janetka, James O'Malley and Peter Henning

Top of page

UCC Appeals Board 
This five-member Board meets on an "as needed" basis to hear and rule on appeals, requests for variances and requests for extensions of time pursuant to guidelines established by Ordinance No. 2012-04. Appeals applications are based on a claim that the intent of the Uniform Construction Code has been incorrectly interpreted, the UCC codes do not fully apply or an equivalent form of construction is to be used.

Members:   Karl Janetka, Steven Shaffer, Donald Carney, Jr. , Matthias Hufnagel & Robert Reilley

Top of page

Industrial Development Authority
This five-member Board provides low-interest loan financing for land and building acquisition, construction and renovation projects that promote the creation or retention of jobs in Lower Salford Township. Proceeds from fees collected through the loan process are used for programs and projects which would otherwise have difficulty obtaining funding. Members are appointed for a five year term.

Members: Christopher Canavan, Aaron Bibro, Richard Mast, RuthE Potter & Scott Bamford

Communications Committee
This Committee was formed in late 2020 and held their first official meeting on April 21, 2021. Meetings are on  the Third Wednesday of each month at 7:30 p.m. For a thorough explanation of the duties of its members, please click the link. Resolution No. 2020-29

Members: Kevin Shelly, Jean Campbell, 
Terri Ehrhart, John DelPizzo & Jessica Lare-Cassel

**If you, or someone you know is interested in serving on any of the Township Boards or Committees, please forward a letter of interest along with a resume to Joe Czajkowski, Township Manager, 379 Main St., Harleysville, PA 19438, or email at: [email protected] Thank you.

Top of page